Email Print

Edwards to chair DOT commission

Staff Report
Published Jan. 23, 2013

Upstate businessman John P. Edwards was elected chairman of the South Carolina Department of Transportation Commission during the commission’s meeting this month in Columbia.

Edwards, who represents the 4th Congressional District, will succeed Chairman R. Eddie Adams in February. Adams will continue to serve as commissioner representing the 3rd Congressional District.

Edwards is the owner and president of Edwards Piping & Machinery in the Greenville area.

The commission also elected Harrison Rearden as vice chairman. Rearden represents the 6th Congressional District.

He is retired from the S.C. Department of Social Services, where he served as executive assistant to the state director, chief of staff, ombudsman and deputy director.

Chad Ingram and Mike Wooten also joined the SCDOT Commission as commissioners.

Ingram represents the 2nd Congressional District, a position formerly held by Commissioner Craig Forrest. Because of reapportionment, Forrest no longer resides in the 2nd Congressional District. He will serve as an at-large member of the commission for the remainder of his term, which concludes in 2014. Ingram, of Aiken, is president and CEO of Garvin Oil Co. Inc.

Wooten is the first commissioner to represent the newly formed 7th Congressional District. Wooten, of Murrells Inlet, is president and founder of DDC Engineers Inc. in Myrtle Beach.

Do you give this article a thumbs up? Thumbs_upYes